Riverina Murray

Riverina Murray Integrated Regional Vulnerability Analysis and Enabling Regional Adaptation

Map of Riverina Murray Region

In 2014 the south-western corner of NSW, including the urban centres of Wagga Wagga, Albury and Griffith, was examined in the Riverina Murray Integrated Regional Vulnerability Assessment (IRVA). 
Eight workshops, covering human services, landscapes and ecosystems, industries, settlements and infrastructure, and emergency management were held with regional officers and decision-makers, whose local knowledge provided the basis for the collaborative planning outlined in the resulting two reports:

  • Riverina Murray IRVA Vol. 1 (PDF 1 MB) outlines the process for identifying regional climate-change vulnerabilities across different sectors and canvasses action to reduce them through a coordinated response.
  • Riverina Murray IRVA Vol. 2 (PDF 783 KB) presents the detailed results of the eight workshops.

Throughout 2016 the Western Enabling Regional Adaptation (WERA) project took place in Central West Orana, Far West, New England North West and Riverina Murray state planning regions. 
The Enabling Regional Adaptation (ERA) process has been designed to develop a shared understanding among stakeholders of the likely vulnerability to climate change, and stimulate action to plan adaptation. To undertake the assessment, ERA engages state and local government participants from different sectors to ensure cross-sectoral and cross-scale operational knowledge and constraints are considered.
For the Riverina Murray , seven regional systems were identified as particularly vulnerable and in need of change to ensure effective ongoing government service planning and delivery:

  • small communities
  • land management
  • riverine ecosystems
  • river-based tourism
  • mixed farming
  • irrigated agriculture
  • energy

Riverina Murray ERA (PDF MB)
For further information on the WERA process, contact adapt.NSW@environment.nsw.gov.au